Press "Enter" to skip to content

The 9th Street Journal Advisory Board

A veteran editor and educator who worked at The Washington Post, Tampa Bay Times and the Poynter Institute, Stephen Buckley is Patterson Professor of the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy at Duke University.

Stephen spent 12 years at The Post as a local reporter and foreign correspondent, initially as The Post’s Africa Bureau Chief and then as the paper’s first correspondent based in Brazil.

He returned to St. Petersburg in 2001, serving as a national reporter for the Times and then editor in charge of national and international coverage before being promoted to managing editor and then publisher of, the paper’s digital site. He moved to the Poynter Institute in 2010 as dean of the faculty. In 2015, he moved to Kenya, where he taught at The Aga Khan University before becoming lead story editor for Global Press Journal, an international news organization focusing on under-covered regions.


Rachel Chason is the West Africa bureau chief for The Washington Post. Before becoming a foreign correspondent in 2022, she was a reporter on the Post’s local desk, focusing on politics and government in Prince George’s County, Maryland.

She was a finalist for the 2020 Pulitzer Prize for breaking news reporting.


Eric Deggans came to NPR in 2013 as the network’s first full-time TV critic after nearly 20 years with the Tampa Bay Times.

Deggans is also a media analyst/contributor for MSNBC and NBC News and served in 2019 as the first African American chairman of the board for the George Foster Peabody Awards for excellence in electronic media.

He is the author of Race-Baiter: How the Media Wields Dangerous Words to Divide a Nation (2012, Palgrave Macmillan) and contributed to the volume The New Ethics of Journalism (2013, Sage/CQ Press), published in conjunction with the Poynter Institute for Media.

Deggans chairs the Media Monitoring Committee for the National Association of Black Journalists, and has served on the board of directors for the national Television Critics Association.


Max Fischer-Zernin is a member of the antitrust and trade regulation practice group in the New York office of Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP, where he works primarily on antitrust matters and focuses on merger investigations, merger analysis, and antitrust counseling.

Max earned his J.D. at New York University School of Law, where he served as staff editor of the NYU Journal of Law & Business and participated in the EU Regulatory Policy Clinic. At NYU, he was awarded both the 2018 Betty Bock Prize in Competition Policy and the 2018 NYSBA Antitrust Section Writing Competition Award.

Prior to law school, Max graduated with distinction from Duke University with a degree in political science.


David A. Graham is a staff writer at The Atlantic.

He won the Toner Prize for Excellence in National Political Reporting in 2021 for his coverage of the 2020 presidential election. Before joining The Atlantic in 2011, he reported for Newsweek, the Daily Beast, The Wall Street Journal, and The National. At The Atlantic, he covers politics and national affairs, and he previously edited the politics section.


Sarah Krueger is senior Durham reporter at WRAL-TV with a focus on enterprise and investigative stories. She won a 2020 Emmy Award for breaking news coverage and contributed to winning entries for a Regional Murrow Award for “Newscast Excellence,” an NC Association of Broadcasters award for “Outstanding Newscast,” and an NC Association of Broadcasters award for “Breaking Story Coverage.” She was named 2015 Multimedia Journalist of the Year by the Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas.

She is a cum laude graduate of Duke University.